Author Topic: a click on an active channel makes my whole screen flash  (Read 5174 times)

devx

  • Guest
a click on an active channel makes my whole screen flash
« on: January 12, 2005, 06:34:41 AM »
Any

button i click on in version 5.5 build 010905 makes my whole screen flash (refresh)
THAT is very anoying especialy since

i have two 21" monitors hooked up to my box.

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
a click on an active channel makes my whole screen flash
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2005, 12:52:24 PM »
Try turning off Skins. Go to the Skins menu, and disable

skins, and see what happens.
The IceChat God

devx

  • Guest
a click on an active channel makes my whole screen flash
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2005, 05:53:26 AM »
Enabled or not, it keeps flashing my whole desktop.

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
a click on an active channel makes my whole screen flash
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2005, 04:55:56 PM »
Well, no idea what is causing it. Perhaps, just perhaps, its

because of the dual monitors.  Any button you click, I am guessing in the Server Editor, the Options window, or do you mean

by clicking buttons on the Channel Bar?
The IceChat God

devx

  • Guest
a click on an active channel makes my whole screen flash
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2005, 06:16:11 PM »
Sorry, i'll specify it better. Any button of the

channels-bar.
So, if i'm connected to 1 server and joined 1 channel for example; those two buttons named "console" and

"#whatever". The other buttons ar not affected.

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
a click on an active channel makes my whole screen flash
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2005, 09:53:13 AM »
So, this is happening if you switch between Console and

#whatever?
The IceChat God

devx

  • Guest
a click on an active channel makes my whole screen flash
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2005, 04:54:26 PM »
yes
and i'll say more :-) ....

when the most

simple view is seen after programlaunch, only the console window is active. More perticular, the console window is seen as a

not maximized MDI window (not minimized either), just a simpel window thus  :roll:

I'll try to explain some tests i

did starting from this setting.

Test1:
IF I make the concole window LARGER using the drag-resize on bottom-right

corner, my screen flashes. IF I do the same to make it SMALER, all is normal.
- the same behaviour is found using any

corner to drag-resize.

Test2:
If console window is maximized, screen flashes
If console window minimized, all is

ok.

Test3:
If i MINimize the whole IceCHat application, -> screen flashes
If i bring it back from the

taskbar, -> screen flashes

Test4:
If MAXimized on one of my screens (i still see the other ;-)) the other

flashes.
If returning to normal size -> all is ok.

I'm a "professional" user with a lot of apps on my box, and

this is one of the rare cases i've seen this kind of behaviour. The only other program that has an equal behaviour is

"chrisTV" when i use it to watch tely.

Not any other program has this kind of problem.

I hope i served you with

my small tests...
keep up the good work guys !! it's a nice application you have, it only needs some polish and it's

perfect.

IF

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
a click on an active channel makes my whole screen flash
« Reply #7 on: January 16, 2005, 05:29:12 PM »
Hello

Ok, I am following you now. I'll see what I can

dig up, and hope I can find the problem here.

Thanks for your patience, and I doubt that the program will ever be

perfect, just close.  :)
The IceChat God