Author Topic: Server rotation  (Read 3529 times)

Patrik356b

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
  • A mystic person following a mystic path...
Server rotation
« on: April 26, 2013, 11:43:59 AM »
Something that would be quite useful when an irc server restarts slowly is a "server rotation" function

Basically you specify a list of servers and when the connection times out, the next server is selected

Example output:

Quote
[09:24.17] -optical.esper.net- *** Server disconnected on optical.esper.net
[09:24.17] -availo.esper.net- Waiting 60 seconds to re-connect using (availo.esper.net)
[09:25.17] -availo.esper.net- *** Attempting to re-connect to availo.esper.net
I may not be perfect, but parts of me are excellent

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Server rotation
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2013, 02:41:17 PM »
It does do this.

But you need to provide the round robin domain name.

So what it does is try the one you selected 2 times, and then it goes through the round robin IP's.

From what you pasted, that does not look like a round robin domain name, but a specific server, so only 1 IP address will resolve to it.

Perhaps irc.esper.net is the round robin name.
The IceChat God

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Server rotation
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2013, 02:42:55 PM »
Doing a /dns server.name will give you a list of IP(s), so you can see if there are multiple ones.
The IceChat God

Patrik356b

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
  • A mystic person following a mystic path...
Re: Server rotation
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2013, 01:42:12 PM »
The quote was made up...

I prefer to connect directly to a nearby server.


Anyway; The networks where i don't connect directly to specific servers doesn't seem to have round robin implemented.
I may not be perfect, but parts of me are excellent

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Server rotation
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2013, 05:45:17 PM »
Well, IceChat just checks for a round robin.
The network should setup a round robin if they have multiple servers, any half decent admin should be able to do it.

The IceChat God