Author Topic: Playing wav files  (Read 3664 times)

robw92

Playing wav files
« on: April 11, 2010, 10:25:27 AM »
I am new to icechat and can't seem to figure this out.

The /play command does play my wav files locally. However, it won't play them in the channel I'm in so that others can hear them. Is there a different command for this? Or am I missing something else?

Thanks in advance.

Snerf

• Administrator
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Playing wav files
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2010, 09:16:15 PM »
That is not how it works. They have to have the wav files on their own computers, IRC does not stream sound files through a channel for others to hear them. This is not instant messaging.
The IceChat God

robw92

« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2010, 09:34:06 PM »
I know how IRC works. I tested it with another computer in the house that DOES have it's own sound files. Each computer has Icechat, each computer has mirc. Icechat is the ONLY client of the 3 i've tested on here that WON'T play the files in the channel.

Anyone else have a solution?

ElementAlchemist

« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2010, 10:36:01 PM »
Wait, so how exactly does it work?  Does it only play certain files that it knows (thinks) are on everyone's computer?  Does it send/autoaccept .wav files through DCC?

(This also sounds like it has the potential to be really annoying really fast.)

Snerf

• Administrator
    • IceChat IRC Client
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2010, 08:37:05 AM »
robw32, so tell us, how does mirc do it? With a script, I assume?
The IceChat God

robw92

« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2010, 12:26:55 PM »
Actually, mirc does it the same way most clients do it. The command syntax may be a bit different, but the result is the same. The client (mirc, icechat, pirch, whichever client is used) connects to the server, and the server distributes the info between the clients (channel text, pvt msgs, sound, etc.)