IceChat Forums

IceChat Version 5 => General Questions for Version 5 (locked) => Topic started by: ChurchyLaFemme on September 11, 2005, 08:19:12 PM

Title: Newbie Question
Post by: ChurchyLaFemme on September 11, 2005, 08:19:12 PM
When I type a ctcp message at the bottom of the page and enter, the message appears on the main chat screen instead of going to the intended recipient. Sorry to be so ignorant, but I need instruction in sending a ctcp message beyond what is offered in the FAQ section. Thanks.
Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: Snerf on September 12, 2005, 06:55:58 AM
What kind of CTCP message do you wish to send, an example of what your trying to do would help.
Generally, its like this:

/ctcp Nick ping

or

/ctcp Nick Some other ctcp message
Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: HLBNigel on March 16, 2006, 08:47:15 AM
does it have to be /ctcp can u not type /notice #chan/nick Message in stead?

I Hope Ive Helped You

HLBNigel@aol.com
Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: NSsmiles on May 02, 2006, 11:35:50 AM
hi guys
I'm new to icechat and was wondering if you can hide your ip addy?
like you can on mirc with undernet?

NSsmiles
Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: Snerf on May 02, 2006, 11:49:29 AM
You do it the same way you do with mirc, by logging into X and setting mode +x.
The commands are no different.
You can add the commands to AutoPerform in the Server Editor for Undernet, and it will do it automatically for you when logging on.
Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: NSsmiles on May 02, 2006, 12:07:48 PM
/ mode $me +x  ?

didnt work
Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: NSsmiles on May 02, 2006, 12:10:44 PM
ok got it... replace $me with nick
Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: Snerf on May 02, 2006, 12:12:05 PM
If you want to use an identifier ($me) , you need to use // in front of the command.
Like this:

//mode $me +x

The // means IceChat will treat $me as an identifier, and not a normal word.
Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: NSsmiles on May 03, 2006, 05:06:45 AM
i'm having a problem when i minimize icechat....if i'm more than a few minutes, when i click on it on the taskbar it closes :?
Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: Snerf on May 03, 2006, 07:18:00 AM
Time to go to version 7.
Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: NSsmiles on May 03, 2006, 08:40:12 AM
ok version 7
another Questio...how do i minimize icechat to go next to clock on task bar?
Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: Morio on May 03, 2006, 08:42:11 AM
Options -> Place Icechat on System Tray when Mimimized
Title: Re: Newbie Question
Post by: Snerf on May 03, 2006, 09:54:22 AM
Pressing CTRL-T does the same, its the Minimize to Tray menu item in the Main Menu.