Author Topic: Freezing IceChat  (Read 8500 times)

Finja

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Freezing IceChat
« on: April 07, 2007, 02:48:37 AM »
Hello.

Sometimes my IceChat freezes. CPU is at 99-100% and you can't do anything but kill the process. Sounds strange but just after clicking "Kill process" and then "Abort" makes IceChat working again.

Any help would be fine ... :)

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1972
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Freezing IceChat
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2007, 09:27:34 AM »
Are you in a very large/busy channel?
Are you doing a server channel list?

These both can cause IceChat to freeze at times.
The IceChat God

Finja

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Freezing IceChat
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2007, 11:47:01 AM »
Thank you for your answer. :)

I have 6-7 different channels running plus some querries. They aren't much too large (3-8 users each one). Channels are all from same server. I don't get exactly what's the thing with "server channel list" ... :)

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1972
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Freezing IceChat
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2007, 12:34:45 PM »
Ok, so you are not on many busy channels then.
And a server channel list, is like whrn you do a /list command. My guess is, your not doing that.
So I am not entirely sure why it is freezing on you.

Does it do it a lot, or is it at random?

Would help me in diagnosing the problem further, having a little more information.
The IceChat God

DarkStar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
  • Scripts for Praise
    • CorpseCorp
Re: Freezing IceChat
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2007, 09:29:20 PM »
I've experianced something similar, But I thought it was just my PC (Its kinda old). Minimizing Icechat to the taskbar and reopening fixes the problem usually. Its just been random for me.
This message brought to you by the Wonderful Wizard of Oz.

Finja

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Freezing IceChat
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2007, 10:19:53 AM »
Hello. :)

Yes, it's very random. Can't minimize to taskbar like DarkStar uses to do cause it's all freezed. As said - trying to kill the IceChat-process and then aborting makes it come back to live. Just like nothing ever would have happened. *gg*

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1972
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Freezing IceChat
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2007, 10:54:55 AM »
Yes, i honestly don't know what would cause that.
I'll try and do a little research on it, and see what I come up with.
The IceChat God

Finja

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Freezing IceChat
« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2007, 01:10:19 AM »
*** Breaking News ***

lol

First the freezing problem still is present. But I recognized something special with it. With running another chat client besides ICE-CHAT that problem occurs much more often. I use to run two clients same time (Miranda + ICE) cause sometimes I need to be online with more than one character. Maybe that fact will help investigating. :)

Regards,
Finja

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1972
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Freezing IceChat
« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2007, 02:35:40 AM »
Welll, IceChat allows you to connect to multiple servers, there really is no need to run 2 clients.

I am working on a newer build, if you wish to test it, come to the #icechat support channel and see if I am around.
The IceChat God

Finja

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Freezing IceChat
« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2007, 10:46:30 AM »
Welll, IceChat allows you to connect to multiple servers, there really is no need to run 2 clients.

I know but what's about being online with two different profiles on same server but different IP ? ;)

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1972
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Freezing IceChat
« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2007, 11:15:44 AM »
You still running off of the same machine, so yes, there is still no point in using 2 clients.
The IceChat God

Finja

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Freezing IceChat
« Reply #11 on: May 06, 2007, 03:02:25 AM »
There is with using bouncers.

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1972
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Freezing IceChat
« Reply #12 on: May 06, 2007, 11:44:28 AM »
IceChat can connect to multiple bouncers.
But, you can keep making excuses, it is still your call if you want to use more then 1 program :)
The IceChat God

Finja

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Freezing IceChat
« Reply #13 on: May 11, 2007, 10:13:21 AM »
lol

Excuse me for my bad excuses. ;)

sbs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Freezing IceChat
« Reply #14 on: August 14, 2007, 09:12:07 AM »
Hi,
 I have the same problem here, I use icechat both on my home computer and office computer and both will sometime freeze using 100% of the CPU. Issuing a kill tasks from the task manager works the issue around.
This used to happen very often in previous 7 release, I am now at 7.60 and still have the issue.

SBS

I also have a small configuration issue where no contextual menu is available on my laptop, but I don't know what I should restore to have them working again, they work normally on my other computer.