Author Topic: Proxy setting  (Read 4753 times)

jimmyd1969

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Proxy setting
« on: May 15, 2006, 10:05:40 AM »
Is there a known issue with Icechat clients and getting thru proxies?  My yahoo works fine and another older IRC client works fine, but Icechat(5 and 7) both do not seem to work with a socks 4 proxy.  Any help is appreciated.  I love the look and feel of this client so I really want to get it to work  BTW, the client does work on the system because I had it a friends over the weekend and it worked without a having to deal with the proxy.

jimmyd1969

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Proxy setting
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2006, 10:36:30 AM »
Here is exactly what I am getting, it actually looks to be getting thru the firewall/proxy.

[10:33] ->> Attempting to connect to Proxy Server <Proxy Server>
[10:33] *** Socks 4 Connection Established with <Proxy Server>
[10:30] --:Germany.EnterTheGame.Com-- *** Looking up your hostname...
[10:33] --Germany.EnterTheGame.Com-- *** Found your hostname, cached
[10:33] --Germany.EnterTheGame.Com-- *** Checking Ident
[10:33] --Germany.EnterTheGame.Com-- *** No Ident response
[10:34] ->> You are running the latest Beta Version
[10:34] ->> *** Error: Closing Link: 0.0.0.0 (Ping timeout)
[10:34] ->> Connection closed from irc.enterthegame.com
[10:34] ->> Attempting to re-connect to irc.enterthegame.com
[10:34] ->> Waiting 30 second(s) to re-connect - (1 tries)

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1971
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Proxy setting
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2006, 10:54:33 AM »
The message you got was a ping time out, but I suspect that the server has a proxy scanner, and booted you off because of it.

The main problem is, is that I do not have a proxy server to test it with. So its mostly guess work to get it working at all.

The IceChat God

jimmyd1969

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Proxy setting
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2006, 11:03:11 AM »
You are right, there is a scanning program, but XiRCON is running right now with no problems.  If you want I can help you test the proxy stuff.

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1971
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Proxy setting
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2006, 11:20:48 AM »
Well, it wouldnt really matter what IRC Client you were running, if your using the same proxy server. The Server/Scanning program only sees the proxy server, not your client. If it finds an open proxy, it will boot you. If your using different proxy servers, thats a different story.

BUT, again, IceChat 7 proxy settings are in the testing stage, as the settings window shows.
I can not be 100% certain that they are working until people test them, like yourself.
So I still suspect that may be part of the problem.

If you have a proxy server that I could use/test with, that would help a great deal.
You can send the information in a private message, or email support at icechat.net.
The IceChat God

jimmyd1969

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Proxy setting
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2006, 10:59:38 AM »
Thanks Snerf, socks 4 is not working as it should be.

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1971
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Proxy setting
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2006, 04:01:00 PM »
You just messaged me back saying that it is working perfectly.
The IceChat God