Author Topic: Newbie Question  (Read 11655 times)

ChurchyLaFemme

  • Guest
Newbie Question
« on: September 11, 2005, 08:19:12 PM »
When I type a ctcp message at the bottom of the page and enter, the message appears on the main chat screen instead of going to the intended recipient. Sorry to be so ignorant, but I need instruction in sending a ctcp message beyond what is offered in the FAQ section. Thanks.

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2005, 06:55:58 AM »
What kind of CTCP message do you wish to send, an example of what your trying to do would help.
Generally, its like this:

/ctcp Nick ping

or

/ctcp Nick Some other ctcp message
The IceChat God

HLBNigel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2006, 08:47:15 AM »
does it have to be /ctcp can u not type /notice #chan/nick Message in stead?

I Hope Ive Helped You

HLBNigel@aol.com

NSsmiles

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2006, 11:35:50 AM »
hi guys
I'm new to icechat and was wondering if you can hide your ip addy?
like you can on mirc with undernet?

NSsmiles

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2006, 11:49:29 AM »
You do it the same way you do with mirc, by logging into X and setting mode +x.
The commands are no different.
You can add the commands to AutoPerform in the Server Editor for Undernet, and it will do it automatically for you when logging on.
The IceChat God

NSsmiles

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2006, 12:07:48 PM »
/ mode $me +x  ?

didnt work

NSsmiles

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2006, 12:10:44 PM »
ok got it... replace $me with nick

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2006, 12:12:05 PM »
If you want to use an identifier ($me) , you need to use // in front of the command.
Like this:

//mode $me +x

The // means IceChat will treat $me as an identifier, and not a normal word.
The IceChat God

NSsmiles

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2006, 05:06:45 AM »
i'm having a problem when i minimize icechat....if i'm more than a few minutes, when i click on it on the taskbar it closes :?

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #9 on: May 03, 2006, 07:18:00 AM »
Time to go to version 7.
The IceChat God

NSsmiles

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #10 on: May 03, 2006, 08:40:12 AM »
ok version 7
another Questio...how do i minimize icechat to go next to clock on task bar?

Morio

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 256
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #11 on: May 03, 2006, 08:42:11 AM »
Options -> Place Icechat on System Tray when Mimimized
"I don't know what World War 3 will be fought with, but I know World War 4 with be fought with sticks and stones." - Albert Einstein

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Newbie Question
« Reply #12 on: May 03, 2006, 09:54:22 AM »
Pressing CTRL-T does the same, its the Minimize to Tray menu item in the Main Menu.
The IceChat God