Author Topic: About the multiline input box  (Read 6345 times)

ADB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
About the multiline input box
« on: May 10, 2004, 11:47:06 PM »
Is there any way to disable this?

I'm really not a big fan of it. I resized it to only one row but this didn't help anything. I can't select text as easily

(if I move my cursor just above the box, it scrolls to previous lines), and my old quick delete method, [Shift]+[Home],

[Delete], no longer has any effect.

I hate to keep complaining in these forums but you've done a great job on this

program and I don't want to stop using it just because of one feature I don't like. IceChat still remains my #1 favorite.

:wink:

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
About the multiline input box
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2004, 09:13:29 AM »
There is no way to disable it. I understand its a bit

different, but with a little time , I hope you will adjust. It solved a lot of problems we had earlier, and it was possible

that some things wont work perfectly. Give it time, after all, we usually end up fixing the little glitches anyways.
The IceChat God

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
About the multiline input box
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2004, 05:12:30 PM »
I cant see the problem with SHIFT, home/delete, they work

perfecly fine for me.
The IceChat God

Goesfraba

  • Guest
About the multiline input box
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2004, 06:20:40 AM »
Quote from: Snerf
I cant see the problem with SHIFT,

home/delete, they work perfecly fine for me.


i have noticed that problem too. it happens only if i

had talk a lot and also switching from channels or other browsers..... then the first line from what i have said or the first

line after a /clear appears on the channel. the 1st line appears with my new just written line on the channel. that's

anoying because some lines are sometimes from PM or other channels. after that it go automatically to the last empty line so

there is no need to scroll down.

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
About the multiline input box
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2004, 08:04:58 AM »
Sorry, but I dont follow what you are trying to say. I could

not make any sense of it at all.
When do you have a problem with the Shift Home/Delete?  Can you describe to me what

happens.
I use the Shift Key, press home, and it goes to the beginning if the line, highlighting it. Does this not work

for you?
The IceChat God

Goesfraba

  • Guest
About the multiline input box
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2004, 05:07:09 PM »
Quote from: Snerf
Sorry, but I dont follow what you

are trying to say. I could not make any sense of it at all.
When do you have a problem with the Shift Home/Delete?  Can

you describe to me what happens.
I use the Shift Key, press home, and it goes to the beginning if the line, highlighting

it. Does this not work for you?

my problem is not the shift/home/delete. (that's working) my problem

is icechat sometimes jumped back to the first line. for further describe read my earlier post. but i am sorry if it is wrong

posted here.....

ADB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
About the multiline input box
« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2004, 07:07:49 PM »
Quote from: Snerf
I use the Shift Key, press home,

and it goes to the beginning if the line, highlighting it. Does this not work for you?


I don't

know about Goesfraba, but no, that doesn't work for me. Also, I'm not sure if this is the error that he's talking about,

but when I give the input box focus, it will jump to the very last thing I said, requiring me to press the down arrow key to

get back to an empty line.

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
About the multiline input box
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2004, 10:34:55 PM »
Ok, yes, I did notice that focus issue, and I am working on

that atm. I think I have found a solution for it.
The IceChat God