Author Topic: Possible bug: "Number of text lines"  (Read 2216 times)

allaboard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Possible bug: "Number of text lines"
« on: April 10, 2012, 04:10:01 PM »
i think there's a bug in icechat 9 rc3. i set the number of text lines to a few thousand, but it only shows a few hundred before the oldest lines disappear. the "number of text lines" box doesn't seem to be doing anything.

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Possible bug: "Number of text lines"
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2012, 10:00:09 AM »
What is a "few thousand" and I hope you realize that setting it that high, IceChat is going to start running quite slowly with that many lines in each window.
The IceChat God

allaboard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Possible bug: "Number of text lines"
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2012, 10:37:52 AM »
it's 5000. i estimate the real number of lines is about 500-600, which is around what it is by default (500). i suspect it's 500, and that changing the setting had no effect.

i guess by setting it that high, i was willing to take the chance that it would run slowly, but i have enough ram that it probably won't. besides, i usually don't have more than one active window, so the most i would have is 5000 for all windows.

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Possible bug: "Number of text lines"
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2012, 05:25:36 PM »
Ok, will do some tests and see if it will go over 1000.
The IceChat God

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Possible bug: "Number of text lines"
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2012, 02:53:37 AM »
Ok, this may have been a problem with RC3, but as of the latest code, RC3.14, it is no longer a problem, as I have tested it 2500 lines.
The IceChat God

allaboard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Possible bug: "Number of text lines"
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2012, 10:03:25 PM »
that's great! thanks snerf! i guess this means i'll have to upgrade my version at some point. when i do, can i just install over the old version, or do i have to uninstall it first before installing a newer version?

is there a way to save all my settings? i spent a long time customizing.

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Possible bug: "Number of text lines"
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2012, 08:01:26 AM »
You will not lose any of your settings when you update.
The IceChat God

allaboard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Possible bug: "Number of text lines"
« Reply #7 on: April 18, 2012, 08:00:51 PM »
how would you suggest i upgrade? should i just install over the old version without uninstalling, or should i uninstall first, then install the newer version?

Snerf

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1968
    • IceChat IRC Client
Re: Possible bug: "Number of text lines"
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2012, 06:46:43 AM »
When an update is available , you will see the update button on the toolbar.
The IceChat God