Author Topic: help please?  (Read 4492 times)

charger

help please?
« on: October 03, 2008, 08:30:10 PM »
Hi everyone, ive been using Icechat for a few years now(fantastic work Snerf and team)..
I have just started messing with the scripts.  I am the OP of a channel and have created a simple swear word filter to monitor things when i'm not around.  It works fine for the most part but i have run into a couple problems i am hoping someone might be able to help me with. I will post a sample of the script so as you might see what i am talking about...

on *:TEXT:badword1:#channel:/say $nick Please do not cuss in here
on *:TEXT:badword2:#channel:/say $nick Please do not cuss in here
on *:TEXT:badword1:#channel:/msg chanserv op all
on *:TEXT:badword2:#channel:/msg chanserv op all
on *:TEXT:badword1:#channel:/kick $nick language
on *:TEXT:badword2:#channel:/kick $nick language

I usually keep myself DeOp'ed in the room...so when the offender triggers a text...it warns them and OP's me the first time(this is their warning)....then on the 2nd offense it warns and boots them.
Things seem to be working for the most part fine.  Heres where the problem comes in.

when the users start a sentence with ????(same amount of ?'s as one of the trigger words)...the script warns them, op's me and then boots them...
There seems to be a correlation between the # of ?'s they use and the number of letters in the trigger word.  my question is: is there a way to disallow the wildcard ?'s.  to tell the script to overlook it or maybe is there just a much better way to do what i'm trying to do?
   Also, i was using the wildcard * in some of them so as to expand the triggers

on *:TEXT:*badword1*:#channel:/say $nick Please do not cuss in here

im not sure if this method was working correctly or not.

In any event, Thank you in advance to anyone who can guide me in the right direction, it will be much appreciated.

Charger

charger

Re: help please?
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2008, 08:39:58 PM »