IceChat Forums

IceChat 7 => IceChat 7 Problems/Bugs => Topic started by: Veve on May 25, 2011, 11:20:19 AM

Title: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Veve on May 25, 2011, 11:20:19 AM
hi,
I'm quite confused about this happening to the beta version sometimes:
-it does not remember window sizes
-set sounds
-some colors I've changed.

It seems to me when I did not use it for x days, it resets itself.

Would be nice if someone would have a look at this specific thing.Thank you.
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Snerf on May 25, 2011, 06:41:06 PM
Not had a problem like this at all.

Which build are you running?
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Veve on May 26, 2011, 03:23:58 PM
it says 7.70.20101031
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Snerf on May 26, 2011, 04:11:21 PM
Why are asking in the IceChat 2009 section then, when you are using 7.70?

And in the "Wishlist" section on top of that...

Which version of windows are you running?
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Veve on May 27, 2011, 12:33:46 PM
dont understand yer 1st question.
running win 7.
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Snerf on May 27, 2011, 03:52:40 PM
I moved the topic to its proper place, you are using IceChat 7, not IceChat 2009.

So does it save any of the settings at all, did it, and now it is broken? We will need more information to help with your problem.
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Veve on May 27, 2011, 04:53:04 PM
When I use it regularly, it saves all of my settings.And it is not broken.
To me it seems like pure random, when it doesn't save several settings.
Sometimes the colors are reset when I didn't use it for a week or ten days.Sometimes it doesn't reset the colors when I don't use it for the same amount of days.
I mean, it is really weird how it acts.

When the amount of x days (sry,idk how many days exactly) is over,it resets everything like window sizes,colors,sound notification,text highlighting,etc.
Then it looks like it is before the first use but the profiles work fine.

Like I said: it seems to be pure random.Also it seems to count the days I use it as admin and the days I start it with a normal leftclick seperately.Because the amount "x" appears to be different...one reset is for instance after 11 days,the next reset is after 7 days (also an example).

What else do you need?I think it's a bug, but I have no idea why it behaves this weird.I know when I get back to my laptop in 6 weeks, I'll have to adjust everything new but the profiles.Ok,six weeks (or 11 weeks I didn't use the program on the laptop, like it is now) is far over this specific amount of days it normally "needs" to reset some or all settings.Like I said:when I use it every day it's all good.This all just happens when I take a break.
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Snerf on May 27, 2011, 10:43:42 PM
So are you using IceChat with profiles settings enabled?
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Veve on May 28, 2011, 03:29:11 PM
yes
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Snerf on May 28, 2011, 04:46:55 PM
That could very well be the problem. Does this happen if you disable profiles?
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Veve on May 28, 2011, 06:41:26 PM
I've never tried disabling profiles, but I'll try.Thanks much for now.

Erm...how come profiles can/could cause such behaviour?
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Snerf on May 29, 2011, 02:09:30 AM
I have heard a few people complain about them , nothing like yours mind you, yours sounds like the computer is just messing up.

Give it a try w/o profiles in any case.
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Veve on May 29, 2011, 09:54:33 AM
It gets stranger and stranger:when I disable profiles all my settings are gone tho I once used it without profiles.
Even my main server is not listed.

I have to restore everything from what I remember, only window size is restored by the program.
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Snerf on May 29, 2011, 07:51:26 PM
When you disable profiles it goes back to the original settings, before you had profile settings turned on.

That is perfectly normal, as they are seperate settings.
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Veve on July 03, 2011, 12:58:24 PM
ok,I've tried it now w/o profiles for a while and oh wonder:it works perfectly fine.

just one thing bugging me:"ignore all Dcc chat requests" is not working.and this is something I desperately need since I'm admin and chat op.

if you want I could open a new topic for that since I can't find it with the search function anywhere here.just tell me please.thanks for your helpful advice :]
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Snerf on July 03, 2011, 06:53:12 PM
I will check it out and test it myself.
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Veve on July 06, 2011, 04:56:06 AM
I already set the DCC chat timeout at "1sec" a few hours ago but I dont know if it will work.Maybe I'll see in 5 hours when there's more traffic in those rooms.
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Snerf on July 06, 2011, 11:55:35 AM
That is not how you disable DCC Chats.

There is an option "Ignore All DCC Chat Requests", check that box.

I just tried it myself, and it works perfectly fine.
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Veve on July 06, 2011, 02:27:45 PM
I'm very sorry to tell you: I wouldnt have written down this problem if this box wasnt checked.

I also unchecked and checked again,closed chat and restarted PC.But it doesnt work at all.I'm kind of lost now.When I'm not at the PC I cannot close those DCC windows immediately.

I do a last restart of the PC and the chat and it will hopefully work now.

Thanks for your support :] ,I'll let you know if it works.
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Veve on July 07, 2011, 06:42:07 AM

There is an option "Ignore All DCC Chat Requests", check that box.

I just tried it myself, and it works perfectly fine.

Excuse me for double posting,I coudn't find any editing/modifying function.
After all I've tried the DCC chat requests still come through.

Only thing that comes spontaneously to my mind is:may be there is an update available?Must be a bug, when you say it works for you perfectly fine.

Or maybe you have an idea for a short script?I've never been scripting before so I have no idea how to start such thing.So far I've only changed the slaps and added some.

I obviously might need some help because the people who are with me in the chat mostly use mIRC (v.7.19 or lower).They cannot help me at all,they say scripting in mIRC is different to Ice Chat's scripting.At least they told me that from what I could explain and took screenshots from.
ooffff.What can I do now?
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Snerf on July 07, 2011, 12:25:14 PM
I do not have the problem with IceChat 7.70, which is the same version you are using. But I am testing it with another version of IceChat sending the chat request. NO problems.


BUT, perhaps that is not the issue at hand. You say that you are on chat most with people that use mirc.
I do not use mirc, nor do I test with it. Perhaps mirc has changed how it sends dcc chat requests as of late.

But I can tell you, this is not a problem if an IceChat client sends a chat request to another IceChat client.
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Snerf on July 07, 2011, 12:42:46 PM
Ok, I have just downloaded mirc 7.19 and send a dcc chat request (/dcc chat Snerf) to my IceChat 7.70 client, and in the Console it says it sees the DCC Chat request, and that it ignored it.

So it does work perfectly fine from my end.

Try opening up the "Debug" window , open it from the Main Menu, and watch the raw text come through, and paste it here. Maybe these people are sending you a dcc chat request in some different manner.
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Veve on July 08, 2011, 04:34:37 AM
Yes,with Ice chat it works I assume.I get no more messages from this one Ice user we have.

But still there are some PChat/irssi users.For Pchat it doesnt work.If it works for Irssi I cant tell because she is on vacation.

I forgot about all those using Chatzilla(FireFox addon).

Now I just made "the big test" since I have mIRC and Chatzilla installed in case Ice chat freezes.This happens not often,but when it ran all night it's buggy with the color- and the emoticon-picker sometimes.Anyway I can handle this easily by opening another client.Sorry,I totally forgot about that.I've been using Ice for a long time now.

BIG TEST
I tried to DCC chat with "myself" from mIRC.
I tried the same from mIRC.

Debug window
chat request from chatzilla gives me the following message:

1=:Veve!~Veve@f0********.adsl.*****dsl.** PRIVMSG Veve- :hi Veve-

chat request from mirc window says "waiting for acknowledgement"
and debug message is the following:
~Veve@f0********.adsl.*****dsl.de NOTICE veve- :DCC Chat (78.55.106.202)
1=:Veve|away!~Veve@f0********.adsl.*****dsl.** PRIVMSG veve- :DCC CHAT chat 1312254666 1024

console says:
[12:41] ->> DCC Chat Request fromVeve|away!~Veve@f0********.adsl.*****dsl.**
[12:41] ->> Veve|away wants a DCC Chat on port 1024
[12:41] ->> DCC Chat Ignored from Veve|away

Nicknames during test:
mIRC = Veve|away
chatzilla = Veve
Ice = Veve-



Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Veve on July 08, 2011, 06:00:37 AM
So Chatzilla is the real problem for me.

And I've looked it upt he last hour when we had much traffic:unfortunately around 80% of our members are using Chatzilla.
I once found it quite handy,but we you shut the browser down or it freezes,you have a big problem.

*Smiles*,it quite interesting what you can read in the debug window.
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Snerf on July 08, 2011, 10:55:08 PM
Ok, there is a problem here from what you said.

Code: [Select]
1=:Veve!~Veve@f0********.adsl.*****dsl.** PRIVMSG Veve- :hi Veve-

This is not a DCC Chat request, this is simply a private message/query. They are not the same.

Code: [Select]
[12:41] ->> DCC Chat Request fromVeve|away!~Veve@f0********.adsl.*****dsl.**
[12:41] ->> Veve|away wants a DCC Chat on port 1024
[12:41] ->> DCC Chat Ignored from Veve|away

This proves it is ignoring the DCC Chat, because it says so.

So I have a hunch you are confused. The 1st one above is just a private message to you that said "hi Veve-" , it is not a DCC Chat Request. This is called a Query, do you want to block these as well?



Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Veve on July 09, 2011, 12:48:34 AM
OH! I thought this was the same.Good to learn something new :]

Yes,definitely I'd love to have it like this:when someone wants to talk to me via PM, I would have to "say yes" or "no" before the query starts.
I have no idea if this is possible.
When I have to block them for all I can tell ppl if they want to PM me,I'd have to start it instead of them.No problem at all.
After all I love the idea of confirming such a request, it would be more than awesome.

Btw:the old window problem occurred again yesterday.I did not change anything, so I don't know why this happened.It worked perfectly fine all the time.
But yesterday my Ice client was a bit buggy.
After using some of the Ice-emoticons with the picker and colors (also with the picker) it froze several times so I had to kill the process via the task manager and start it again.
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Snerf on July 09, 2011, 07:58:11 AM
In order to have a box pop to ask if you want to allow or disallow a Query, a script would need to be written for that.

To block them all, under the Main IceChat options, select 'Disable all queries'
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Veve on July 10, 2011, 02:02:48 PM
Thank you.

Queries are disabled.

And both:disabled DCC chat requests and query requests work perfectly fine and get ignored.I tested both with chatzilla just a few minutes ago.When I get a DCC chat request, a window pops up and asks me if I want DCC with that specific person. :]

Anyway, I think I don't quite understand the difference between DCC chat and queries.The only thing I know now is:a query is a "PM".

Would you be so nice to explain the difference to me?

Maybe it is enough when I only block queries.
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Snerf on July 11, 2011, 10:49:25 AM
A DCC Chat is a direct connection between 2 people, you are not messaging through the server, which is what a query/PM is.
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Veve on July 14, 2011, 04:07:09 AM
Oh,that explains a lot I've been wondering of.

Thanks a lot! :]

It all seems to work now how I want it to.

Maybe I try to get into scripting, but not today or tomorrow.I saw a lot of scripts here on the site.I have a slight feeling I might need it sooner or later tho Ice is quite handy.

A few more questions:when I have a script,

-do I have to load it every time I start Ice?
-where do I save it?
-can for instance 3 or 5 scripts be run?
Title: Re: problem with remembering window sizes,sounds,colors
Post by: Morio on July 14, 2011, 06:14:46 AM
A few more questions:when I have a script,

-do I have to load it every time I start Ice?
-where do I save it?
-can for instance 3 or 5 scripts be run?

1. Once you load a script it will be loaded every time you run icechat, until you remove it yourself.
2. Type "//echo $scriptdir" (without quotes, and no, that // is not a typo) into icechat and it will show you the directory. If you use the script editor to write the script, it will by default put you into this directory when saving a script.
3. Yes you can run as many scripts as you like.